CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

CoBrA
Alechinsky, Appel, Corneille, Jorn, Lucebert, Pedersen

November 13, 2012 – January 8, 2013




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



Towards the end of the year, LEVY Galerie will be presenting a large museum exhibit of the CoBrA artist group with works from Pierre Alechinsky, Karel Appel, Corneille, Jacques Doucet, Asger Jorn, Lucebert and Carl-Henning Pederson.

The CoBrA group was founded in 1948 in Paris by the artists shown here, originating from Copenhagen, Brussels and Amsterdam. The royal poisonous snake, in its unconventionality and spontaneity, stands for a radical confrontation with the artistic tradition following the horrors of the Second World War. In a conscious rejection of aesthetic norms, the ideal is sought in an uncompromising, infantile-naive attitude towards life. In contrast to the also radical "isms" of the early 20th century, this attitude was never articulated as a stipulated formal canon. The powerful unity of the group fractured after only three years, and the artists found their own solutions in a variety of directions.

In a comprehensive overview, the exhibit in the LEVY Galerie shows the developments of the artistic debate of members of CoBrA, which has endured for decades, from the 1940's into the 21st century, and thus also documents the not to be underestimated influence on subsequent currents, such as Informel, Abstract Expressionism, Neue Wilde (Wild Style), and extending to the Pop Art movement.

For more information please contact the gallery.

CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

CoBrA
Alechinsky, Appel, Corneille, Jorn, Lucebert, Pedersen

13. November 2012 – 8. Januar 2013




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



Zum Ende des Jahres zeigt LEVY Galerie eine große museale Ausstellung der Künstlergruppe CoBrA mit Arbeiten von Pierre Alechinsky, Karel Appel, Corneille, Jacques Doucet, Asger Jorn, Lucebert und Carl-Henning Pederson.

Die CoBrA-Gruppe wurde 1948 in Paris von den hier gezeigten Künstlern aus Copenhagen, Brüssel und Amsterdam gegründet. Die königliche Giftschlange steht nach dem Grauen des zweiten Weltkriegs in ihrer Unkonventionalität und Spontanität für eine radikale Konfrontation mit der Kunsttradition. In der bewussten Abkehr von ästhetischen Normen wird das Ideal in einem kompromisslos infantil-naivem Lebensgefühl gesucht. Anders als die ebenfalls radikalen -Ismen zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts wird dieser Gestus aber nie zu einem übereingekommenen Formenkanon artikuliert. Schon nach drei Jahren zerbricht die kraftvolle Einheit der Gruppe und die Künstler finden in unterschiedlichen Richtungen ihre eigenen Lösungen.

Die Ausstellung in der LEVY Galerie zeigt in einem umfassenden Überblick die Entwicklungen der Jahrzehnte währenden künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung der Mitglieder von CoBrA seit den 1940er Jahren bis ins 21. Jahrhundert und weist so ebenfalls die nicht zu unterschätzenden Einflüsse auf anschließende Strömungen wie Informel, Abstrakten Expressionismus, Neue Wilde bis hin zur Pop-Art Bewegung nach.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an die Galerie.