CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

Richard Lindner
FUN CITY

16th February – 20th April, 2016




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



After his early achievements as illustrator Richard Lindner (*1901-†1978) evolves a distinctive visual language that turns him into one of the key pioneers of pop art. In a unique way he succeeds in combining the grotesque-caricatural formal elements of New Objectivity with the vividly colored, collagesque flatness of pop art, thereby oscillating between the cultural worlds of Europe and North America.

Following the major retrospective show of Richard Lindner at the Stiftung Ahlers Pro Arte in Hanover in 2015 this exhibition of works on paper provides a long overdue insight into the graphic oeuvre of the artist. The works demonstrate how meticulously Lindner builds up his compositions before accomplishing his visual research in mostly large-size oil on canvas works. Drawing is the medium for Lindner to play through his observations of a theme. In smooth, diffident strokes he puts his thoughts to the test on various sheets of paper until he finally focuses on one composition emphasizing details (partially in color) and ornamentation and assembling surfaces and shapes in a contrasting manner.

Preferably he chooses the motif of the couple to thematise gender role models as well as the mutual attraction between men and women displaying them in an erotic puzzle. Most notably it is the panorama of New York City’s demimonde and underworld that inspires him to create paintings of psychological alienation, of the vacant pursuit of consumption and social fragmentation. Complemented with a range of watercolors and colored pencil on paper-works the exhibition revives his personal vision of the FUN CITY.

In conjunction with the show a catalogue is publicized at Kerber Publishers with an essay by Belinda Grace Gardner.

For further information or image requests please contact the gallery.

CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

Richard Lindner
FUN CITY

16. Februar – 20. April 2016




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



Nach einer frühen Karriere als Illustrator und Werbegrafiker wird Richard Lindner (*1901 - †1978) mit seiner unverwechselbaren Bildsprache zu einem der wichtigsten Wegbereiter der Pop Art. Auf eigentümliche Weise gelingt es ihm die grotesk-karikaturistischen Elemente der Neuen Sachlichkeit mit der farbintensiven, collagenartigen Flächigkeit der Pop Art zu vereinen und zwischen der Kulturwelt Europas und der Nordamerikas zu oszillieren.

Im Anschluss an die große Werkschau Richard Lindners 2015 in der Stiftung Ahlers Pro Arte in Hannover gibt diese Ausstellung mit Arbeiten auf Papier seit langem einen umfassenden Einblick in das zeichnerische Oeuvre des Künstlers. Die Werke belegen, wie akribisch Lindner an seinen Kompositionen arbeitet, bevor er das Ergebnis auf meist großformatigen Leinwänden in Öl ausführt. Die Zeichnung ist das Medium, in dem Lindner seine Beobachtungen zu einem Thema durchläuft. In weichen, reduzierten Strichen erprobt er seine Gedanken über mehrere Blätter bis er sich schließlich auf eine Komposition konzentriert und (z.T. farbige) Akzente im Detail und der Ornamentik setzt und Flächen und Formen kontrastierend zusammenfügt.

Bevorzugt wählt er das Motiv des Paares, um Rollenbilder zu thematisieren und die gegenseitige Anziehung zwischen Mann und Frau wie in einem erotischen Puzzle zu verbildlichen. Dabei ist es vor allem das Panorama der New Yorker Halb- und Unterwelt, das er zu Bildern psychologischer Verfremdung, leeren Konsumstrebens und sozialer Zersplitterung wandelt. Ergänzt durch eine Anzahl an Aquarell- und Farbstiftarbeiten lässt die Ausstellung seine persönliche Vision der FUN CITY auferstehen.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalogbuch im Kerber Verlag mit einem Text von Belinda Grace Gardner.

Für weitere Informationen und Bildmaterial wenden Sie sich gerne an die Galerie.