CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

Daniel Mohr
Phase Shifting

May 8 - June 29, 2012




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



“Reflections of light on water, moving shadows, prismatic refractions, vortical rotations: Daniel Mohr’s works draw pivotal aesthetic impulses from phenomena that disrupt the unambiguous view of the world and its objects. The compositions of the Berlin-based painter, born in 1976, are themselves manifoldly disrupted. They are impacted by the very reflections, refractions, and rotations that the artist imports from the extra-pictorial into the intra-pictorial reality of his paintings, which seem to shatter into pieces before the beholders’ eyes. Mohr’s paintings are as evasive as the ephemeral play of light and shadow. They are fragmented, distorted, broken up into vertical strips and rotating circles.

Daniel Mohr draws from the repository of art history, from moments of reality that he has captured in photographic images, in which the mech- anisms of perception are condensed and implicitly visualized by their disruption and mobilization. In his painted collages based on visual ob- servations, found and fragmented slivers of information, he investigates the activity of seeing as well as what is being seen. The “theoretical foundation of personal action” encompasses the mathematical permutative structures of Minimal Music, including the deviations immanent to it, the transposition of the technical characteristics of digital image struc- tures and “photographic effects” into painting, as well as the optical experiments of the Baroque era, the aesthetic issues of the Bauhaus artists, particularly Paul Klee’s theories on form and color, and Henri Matisse’s cut-out technique of the gouaches découpés, up to Johann Wolfgang Goethe’s analysis of the nature and perception of colors in the latter’s holistic Theory of Colors (1810).

The visual “phase shifting” or interferences not only bring about shifts in the paintings themselves and thus in the perception of the viewers, whose reading of the works is briefly halted, detoured, and led into new terrains and levels of meaning. In the parallelism of events, the chronology of time also no longer applies. Time keeps bouncing back onto itself, remaining in a state of suspension balancing between progression, rebound, and endless loop: “in a permanent movement of transcendence and construction of boundaries, of dissolving and setting up boundaries, of despatialization,“ which is in compliance with the „hybrid spaces” that comprise our experience of the world with its “vagabonding boundaries” and seamless transitions from real to virtual, and back again.“ (Text: Belinda Grace Gardner)

On the occasion of the exhibition a catalogue is published at Kerber Verlag.

For additional information please contact the gallery.

CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

Daniel Mohr
Phasenverschiebung

8. Mai – 29. Juni 2012




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



„Spiegelungen von Licht auf Wasser, Schattenwürfe, prismatische Brechungen, wirbelnde Drehungen: Aus Phänomenen, die die eindeutige Sicht auf die Welt und ihre Gegenstände stören, beziehen Daniel Mohrs Bilder wesentliche ästhetische Impulse. Die Kompositionen des 1976 geborenen, in Berlin lebenden Malers sind selbst in mehrfacher Hinsicht gestört. Sie sind von ebenjenen Spiegelungen, Brechungen und Drehungen erfasst, die Mohr aus der außerbildlichen Wirklichkeit in die innerbildliche Realität seiner Malerei importiert. Diese Malerei zerspringt gleichsam vor den Augen der Betrachter und entzieht sich wie das flüchtige Spiel von Licht und Schatten dem Zugriff. Sie ist zersplittert, verzogen, in vertikale Bänder und rotierende Kreise zergliedert.

Daniel Mohr schöpft aus dem Fundus der Kunstgeschichte, aus selbst aufgenommenen Wirklichkeitsmomenten, in denen sich die Mechanismen der Wahrnehmung verdichten und implizit über deren Störung und Mobilisierung zur Anschauung kommen. In seinen gemalten Collagen aus visuellen Beobachtungen, Fund- und Bruchstücken erforscht er das Sehen ebenso wie das Gesehene. Die »theoretische Grundierung des eigenen Tuns« umfasst die mathematisch-permutativen Strukturen der Minimal Music samt der ihnen immanenten Ausbrüche, die Übertragung technischer Eigenheiten des digitalen Bildaufbaus und »fotografischer Effekte« in die Malerei ebenso wie die optischen Experimente des Barock, die ästhetischen Fragestellungen der Bauhaus-Künstler, insbesondere die bildnerische Form- und Farbenlehre von Paul Klee, Henri Matisses Scherenschnitt-Technik der Gouaches découpés, bis hin zu den Untersuchungen Johann Wolfgang Goethes über Wesen und Wahrnehmung der Farben in dessen ganzheitlicher Farbenlehre (1810).

Die visuellen »Phasenverschiebungen« oder Interferenzen sorgen nicht nur für einen buchstäblichen Knick in der Optik der Bilder bzw. der Rezipienten, der deren Lesefluss kurzfristig arretiert, umlenkt, in neue Terrains und Bedeutungsschichten führt. In der damit verbundenen Parallelität der Ereignisse ist auch die Chronologie der Zeit mit aufgehoben. Letztere fällt immer wieder auf sich selbst zurück und bleibt in der Schwebe zwischen Progression, Rückkopplung und Endlos-Loop: »in einer permanenten Bewegung von Entgrenzung und Begrenzung, von Grenzaufbau und Grenzabbau, von Enträumlichung«, die den »hybriden Räumen« unserer Welterfahrung mit ihren »vagabundierenden Grenzen« und nahtlosen Übergängen von real zu virtuell und wieder zurück gemäß ist.“ (Text: Belinda Grace Gardner)

Anlässlich der Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation im Kerber Verlag.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an die Galerie.