CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

C.O. Paeffgen | Stories Told by Fruit and Vegetable Crates

January 16 through March 14, 2018




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



Simplicity is part of the system. The system itself is based on simplicity. This as well is part of the system. A small moon constantly appears in some corner or another of the pictures, suspended in the air in the shape of a scythe like a floating comma. Sung to by birds and seized by the elongated trunk of an elephant, or stuck to the sky as a point of orientation, C.O. Paeffgen has been featuring the moon, and other recurring pictorial elements, in wooden fruit and vegetable crates since the late 1960s. The boxes resemble miniature stages or film sets on which everything or nothing might take place. Here, entire dramas go to the dogs. The end is always near, at times dangling by the slimmest thread. The equilibrium is fairly precarious per se, and thus things are bound to slip, slide, or go astray. A table soccer figure valiantly kicks out into the abyss. Sex and death are kept in a balance. All true adventures take place in one’s mind. To each and every mind a different, autonomous story is revealed. The artist is like a visual clue giver who places something that permits this or that interpretation into the given space. Or places something into the latter which, in fact, resists all interpretation. In palpable proximity to the maxim of Minimalism, his principle indeed reads as follows, “What you see is what you see”(1): it is what it is. There is nothing to found behind it. Everything that is to be seen stands clearly and bluntly before the beholder’s eye. The tales that the boxes are able to tell are openly revealed. One simply sees what one sees, and reads those stories that one believes to recognize in these. The moon is a silent witness of the panorama which unfolds anew for each viewer, in constantly different ways, from the interplay of pictorial signs precisely placed by Paeffgen.
C.O. Paeffgen, who was born in 1933 and initially completed a law degree, has acquired renown as a painter, graphic artist, and creator of objects with his very own, unique pictorial language that draws from media images, rendering the serious comical, and, vice versa, seriously, and literally, giving the comical decisive contours. He launched his career as an artist in the late 1960s. Already in 1970, he participated in an exhibition at Cologne Kunsthalle, the first of many further presentations in major museums and art institutions. Irony and a dark brand of humor are driving forces in his work, which oscillates between the second and the third dimension, conflating political perspicacity, acerbic cultural critique, and the resistant lyricism of the absurd.
The fruit box works produced by the artist from the very beginning parallel to his well-known painted Contourings and assemblage-like Wrappings are multi-media conglomerates of painting and sculpture, objects, spatial installations, and Concrete poetry. Indeed: Concrete poetry, which denotes nothing beyond itself, is a kind of lyrical foot- and headnote in the artist’s questionings and displacements. Framed in boxes that otherwise hold vegetables and fruit, his pictures, which in the past years have been compressed into a small number of optical “statements,”(2) are transformed into the format of dioramas that get down to the business of life without missing a beat of fun. One might well wonder what the point in fact is at all, if a certain measure of fun is missing. Yet this is possibly the essential question Paeffgen poses in his work.
Text: Belinda Grace Gardner
Notes: (1) Frank Stella’s remark in 1964 about his approach as an artist became the aesthetic battle cry of Minimalism (cf.: https://www.sfmoma.org/exhibition/what-you-see-is-what-you-see/, accessed: Dec. 20, 2017). (2) Bazon Brock, ¿Madly nice!, in: Oliver Kornhoff (ed.): Sehr Schön. C. O. Paeffgen im Arp Museum, exhib.cat., Germ./Engl., transl. into the Engl. by Brian Currid (Arp Museum Bahnhof Rolandseck: 2013), Cologne: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, 2013, p. 15.

For further information or image requests please contact us.

CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

C.O. Paeffgen | Obst- und Gemüsekisten erzählen

16. Januar bis 14. März 2018




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



Die Einfachheit hat System. Das System hat Einfachheit. Auch das hat System. Ständig taucht er in irgendeiner Bild-Ecke auf: ein kleiner Mond, der sichelförmig wie ein schwebendes Komma in der Luft hängt. Von Vögeln angesungen, vom verlängerten Elefantenrüssel eingefangen, oder als Orientierungsmarke am Firmament klebend setzt C.O. Paeffgen den Mond seit Ende der 1960er Jahre neben anderen wiederkehrenden Bildelementen in hölzernen Obst- und Gemüsekisten in Szene. Die Kisten sind wie Miniatur-Bühnen oder -Filmsets, auf denen sich alles und nichts abspielt. Ganze Dramen gehen darin vor die Hunde. Das Ende ist stets nahe und baumelt bisweilen am Bindfaden. Die Balancen sind an sich ziemlich prekär. Da kann schon mal was ins Kippen, auf Abwege und Abseiten geraten. Ein Kicker tritt beherzt in den Abgrund. Sex und Tod halten sich die Waage. Die wahren Abenteuer finden ohnehin im Kopf statt. Jedem einzelnen Kopf zeigt sich eine andere, eigene Geschichte. Der Künstler ist wie ein visueller Stichwortgeber, der etwas in den Raum stellt, das diese oder jene Deutung zulässt. Oder eben gar keine. Denn sein Prinzip lautet in greifbarer Nähe zur Maxime der Minimalisten, „What you see is what you see“(1): Es ist das, was es ist. Nichts steckt dahinter. Alles, was es zu sehen gibt, steht unverblümt und unverbrämt vor dem Auge des Betrachters, der Betrachterin. Das, was die Kisten zu erzählen haben, liegt offen vor einem. Man sieht eben, was man sieht, und liest die Geschichten, die man zu erkennen meint. Der Mond ist stiller Zeuge des Panoramasptikums, das sich für jeden und jede immer wieder anders aus dem Zusammenspiel der von Paeffgen präzise gesetzten Bild-Zeichen entfaltet.
C.O. Paeffgen, Jahrgang 1933 und studierter Jurist, hat sich als Maler, Grafiker und Objektkünstler mit einer eigenwillig-autonomen, aus Medienimages schöpfenden Bildsprache einen Namen gemacht, die aus Ernst Komik macht – und umgekehrt, dem Komischen buchstäblich ernsthaft(e) Kontur gibt. Seine künstlerische Laufbahn startete er Ende der 1960er Jahre. Schon 1970 nahm er an einer Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Köln teil, die erste von vielen weiteren Präsentationen in namhaften Museen und Kunstinstitutionen. Ironie und dunkler Humor sind treibende Kräfte seines zwischen der zweiten und dritten Dimension changierenden Werks, das politische Scharfsicht, bissige Kulturkritik und die widerständige Poesie des Absurden vereint.
Die von Anfang an parallel zu seinen bekannten malerischen Umrandungen und assemblagehaften Umwicklungen kreierten Obstkisten-Arbeiten sind multimediale Konglomerate aus Malerei und Skulptur, Objekt, Installation und Konkreter Poesie. Überhaupt: Die Konkrete Poesie, die sich selbst bedeutet und sonst nichts, ist eine lyrische Fuß- und Kopfnote, die in den Hinterfragungen und Deplatzierungen des Künstlers aufscheint. In Boxen gefasst, die sonst lebensmittelhaltig sind, mutieren seine Bilder, die sich in den vergangenen Jahren auf wenige optische „Statements“(2) verdichtet haben, zu Guckkästen, die ans Eingemachte gehen, aber keinen Spaß auslassen. Ohne Spaß müsste man sich fragen, was das Ganze eigentlich soll. Aber genau darum geht es vielleicht auch in Paeffgens Werk.
Text: Belinda Grace Gardner
Anmerkungen: (1)Frank Stellas Äußerung über den eigenen künstlerischen Ansatz 1964 wurde zum ästhetischen Schlachtruf der Minimal Art (vgl.: https://www.sfmoma.org/exhibition/what-you-see-is-what-you-see/, abgerufen: 20.12.2017). (2) Bazon Brock, ¿Irrsinnig schön!, in: Oliver Kornhoff (Hrsg.): Sehr Schön. C. O. Paeffgen im Arp Museum, Ausst.-Kat., dt./engl. (Arp Museum Bahnhof Rolandseck: 2013), Köln: Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König 2013, S. 12.

Für weitere Informationen und Abbildungsmaterial wenden Sie sich gerne an uns.