CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

Frank Wiebe
The Last Resort

December 02 – December 20, 2013

January 02 – January 08, 2014




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



LEVY Galerie is pleased to present an overall monographic show of the artist Frank Wiebe (*1959). Within the oeuvre of the Hamburg painter the viewer is confronted with the physical and biological constitution of the world. In the course of this, an interplay between transparency and opacity, density and dispersal, holdup and process comes to light, which not only explores the regularities of natural phenomena, but also addresses the highly vital laws within social constellations. The observer`s eye roams across the canvas` terrain perceiving vertical and horizontal color fields, pastose open and sealed structures as well as floating movable pieces of scenery, that are located in an opaque, indefinite room. This „topography of an imaginary landscape“ (Jürgen Doppelstein) contains a luminous spectrum of complementary colors, which approaches the viewer`s sense of vision immediately. Frank Wiebe uses the method of destabilization and dispersion in order to initiate discourses of thought and perception. Through the coexistence of his form sets he eludes the direct grasp of his work, but at the same time instigates a chain of associations. The latter emphasizing a juxtaposition of manifold semantic levels in seeing the world. In the same way the principle of a series of works aims at exploiting the full set of possibilities.

Frank Wiebe studied painting at the Universität der Künste Berlin, was represented in numerous national and international exhibitions and finally, obtained the Ernst-Barlach-Award 2011. At LEVY Galerie primarily his latest series of works The Last Resort and Heligoland can be seen.

On the occasion of the exhibition a catalogue is published at Kerber Verlag containing essays by Jürgen Doppelstein, Belinda Grace Gardner and Katharina Henkel as well as a special Collector`s Edition limited to 50 copies, signed and numbered by the artist.

For more information please contact the gallery.

CONTACT

IMPRINT

GERMAN / ENGLISH

Frank Wiebe
The Last Resort

02. Dezember - 20. Dezember 2013

02. Januar - 08. Januar 2014




- click on the pictures to enlarge -



Die LEVY Galerie freut sich eine übergreifende Werkschau des Künstlers Frank Wiebe (*1959) zu präsentieren. Der Betrachter sieht sich in den Bildkompositionen des Hamburger Malers der Welt in ihren physikalischen und biologischen Erscheinungen gegenüber. Dabei kommt ein Wechselspiel zwischen Transparenz und Opazität, Dichte und Auflösung, Stillstand und Prozess zum Vorschein, das nicht nur die Gesetzmäßigkeiten natürlicher Phänomene, sondern gesellschaftlicher Grundkonstellationen erforscht. Das Betrachterauge wandert über das Terrain der Leinwand vorbei an vertikalen oder horizontalen Farbflächen, pastosen offenen oder verschlossenen Strukturen und begegnet freischwebenden Versatzstücken, die in einem nicht begrenzten Dunkel an Raum verortet sind. Diese „Topografie der imaginären Landschaft“ (Jürgen Doppelstein) birgt ein Spektrum an Komplementärfarben, die das Sehvermögen direkt angehen. Frank Wiebe arbeitet mit dem Mittel der Destabilisierung und Zerstreuung um Gedanken- und Wahrnehmungsdiskurse bei seinem Gegenüber anzuregen. Durch die Koexistenz seiner Formenkonstellationen entzieht er sich dem genauen Zugriff und lässt eine Assoziationskette in Gang setzen, die ein Nebeneinander vielfältiger Bedeutungsebenen betont. So hat auch das Prinzip der Werkserie das Ziel, das Repertoire aller Möglichkeiten auszuschöpfen.

Frank Wiebe studierte Malerei an der Universität der Künste Berlin, war danach in zahlreichen Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland vertreten und erhielt zuletzt den Ernst-Barlach-Preis 2011. In der LEVY Galerie ist er nun vornehmlich mit neuen Werkserien wie The Last Resort und Heligoland zu sehen.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalogbuch im Kerber Verlag mit Texten von Jürgen Doppelstein, Belinda Grace Gardner und Katharina Henkel sowie eine Collector`s Edition in einer limitierten Auflage von 50 Exemplaren mit einer vom Künstler signierten und nummerierten Radierung.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an die Galerie.